American Craft Spirits Association Appoints New President

Primary tabs

The American Craft Spirits Association (ACSA) today announced the appointment of Chris Montana, owner of Du Nord Craft Spirits (MN), as the President of the Board of Directors.

He replaces Mark Shilling, who served as the organization’s president since April 2017.

Maggie Campbell, president of Privateer Rum (MA), was named as the organization’s Vice President. Colin Keegan of Santa Fe Spirits (NM) will serve as Secretary/Treasurer.

Together, Montana, Campbell and Keegan, who have served as members of ACSA’s Board of Directors over the last year — along with the newly elected and re-elected Board of Directors — will work with Executive Director Margie A.S. Lehrman to address issues facing the craft distilling industry.

“Chris is a thoughtful, deliberate, and engaging leader, and I look forward to continuing to work with him over the next year as he leads our organization into this new and exciting chapter,” says Shilling, who will help transition Montana as he takes on this new role. “It has been an honor and a privilege to serve the members of ACSA, the only national trade association led by distillers to serve distillers, and I know Chris will do a fantastic job carrying on the great work we have accomplished over the last year.”

“I am humbled by this opportunity to serve our members at ACSA,” says Montana. “I’d like to thank Mark and our retiring board members for their mentorship, support, and their tireless efforts that have set us on the path to continued success.”

“As the industry continues to grow at a record pace, I am excited to work with the tremendously talented team at ACSA as we continue the excellent work already in progress to elevate and advocate for our craft distilling community,” he adds.

The Board of Directors will also appoint ex officio members and leadership to its governing committees within the next few weeks. Those committees include Membership, Ethics, Convention, Education, Judging, Legislative Affairs, State Guilds, Technology, and Development.

The 2018 Board of Directors is comprised of the following individuals:

Maggie Campbell, Privateer Rum Distillery (Ipswich, MA)*
Ryan Christiansen, Caledonia Spirits (Hardwick, VT)*
James Montero, Dogfish Head Distilling (DE)

Central & Mountain
Colin Keegan, Santa Fe Spirits (NM)
Courtney McKee, Headframe Spirits (MT)
Chris Montana, Du Nord Craft Spirits (MN)
Dan Garrison, Garrison Brothers Distillery (TX)
Mark Shilling, Treaty Oak Brewing and Distilling Co. (TX)
P.T. Wood, Wood’s High Mountain Distillery (CO)
Amber Pollock, Backwards Distillery Company (Casper, WY)*

Jeff Kanof, Copperworks Distilling Company (Seattle, WA)*
Molly Troupe, Freeland Spirits (Portland, OR)*
Melkon Khosrovian, Greenbar Distillery (Los Angeles, CA)**
Jake Holshue, Rogue Spirits (OR)
Orlin Sorensen, Woodinville Whiskey Co. (WA)

Ex Officio
Ex Officio – Thomas Jensen, New Liberty Distillery (PA)
Ex Officio – Matt Hofmann, Westland Distillery (WA)

Steve Johnson, Vermont Spirits (VT)